blog tour · book blog · book review · books

Blog Tour: How Forever Feels

Ready for another one?

Today, I am so excited to be a part of the blog tour for How Forever Feels by Laura Drewry because today is its release day!! So join me in celebrating the release of this adorably heart-warming book!!


How Forever Feels
Friends First #4
By: Laura Drewry
Releasing October 13, 2015
Loveswept
How Forever Feels_CoverFrom USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry comes a warm and witty new Friends First novel—perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. How Forever Feels is a sweet tale about the one that got away . . . and the one that came back.

Maya McKay’s heart is as big as Jack Rhodes’s shoulders are broad. Their chemistry is out of control, but it could never work between them because Jack is more than just best friends with her cheating ex-husband—they’re like brothers. Maya, the sensitive, practical florist, has given up on love and is ready to settle for like. But now that Jack’s around again, he’s stirring up old feelings—and turning Maya’s fantasies into irresistible reality.

Jack blew his chance with Maya years ago when he stepped aside for his best friend, Will, and he’s still kicking himself about it. Maya was promised forever once before, and she got burned. But when Jack realizes that second chances aren’t going to fall out of the sky, he seizes the moment—and the woman he’s always loved—to show her how forever truly feels.


Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25238945-how-forever-feels
Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/143634-friends-first
 
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

Link to Follow Tour: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/08/how-forever-feels-friends-first-4-by.html

Author Spotlight

LauraUSA Today Bestselling author, Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Giveaway
Publisher will be hosting a Tour Wide Giveaway for a Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle
Interested? Well then, click the link below to enter:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review-Banner

I’m not sure how many times a person can use the word cute or adorable in the span of a review before it gets redundant or annoying but I guarantee that is what I would do if I could to describe this book. Luckily, I am going to try and use my expansive vocabulary so that no one is subject to the endless number of cute’s and adorable’s I had planned for this review. Despite it being cute/adorable, How Forever Feels is also one of those feel good romances where you just pour all your attention into the couple because you know despite all the obstacles that lay ahead of them, there is just no way they can’t not get together by the end of the book.
From the cover, which is absolutely adorable, to the title, this book had an all around air of sweetness to it. Yes, you are dealing with someone who caught her now ex-husband cheating on her and yes, that ex-husband also happens to be the best friend of the guy who has been pining for her since he met her which means cue the drama/obstacles. But despite all that, both Maya and Jack were just so lovable you couldn’t help but want to fast forward through all that conflict so that they could just be together the way they were obviously meant to be.
Jack Rhodes is a complete and utter teddy bear. All I wanted to do while I was reading this was hug him because he is so sweet and endearing. The way he is described as being this wide-shouldered, down-to-earth, goofy, doesn’t like attention brought to him kind of guy it was hard to not to let my heart melt when reading from his point of view. Especially since he experienced so much hardship and instability growing up before the Carson’s took him in. It was also incredibly refreshing to read about a male protagonist who wasn’t the alpha male, “I’m in charge” kind of guy which is what I usually gravitate towards. He has an authenticity about him because I could easily picture a guy like him existing in the real world and it is safe to say if I did meet him I would not hesitate to date him. But of course, he has eyes on someone else and who am I to step in when your dealing with someone’s forever as Maya puts it. Also, he has a dog which just makes him even more adorable than he already was.
And then there is Maya who is equally sweet and adorable. I loved the nickname that Jack gives Maya, Snip, because, and I hate to use this word, it was just so cute. Because of her height, he sees her a snippet of full-grown person, I mean, that is just so original. That one nickname tells you how close they were and the history they had before she found her husband cheating on her and Jack “sided” with Will aka Dickhead as Maya’s friends call him. You can’t help but feel for Maya after what Will did to her because it made her give up on finding her “forever” but slowly Jack restores that as you see the connection these two have. Yes, there is that conflict given the fact that Jack is Will’s best friend but even in the first few chapters I was like forget about that, these two have to get together. Maybe that is the hopeless romantic in me talking but I couldn’t help but fall for both Maya and Jack very early on in this book.
This second chance love story with its delightfully lovable characters will make anyone want to search for their “forever” if they haven’t found it already.

Unknown-1


Excerpt-Banner

Jack lifted his hands. “Hold on. In his defense, I think they were off at that point but were still . . . Anyway, when I saw Maya and her friend come in, I figured there was no way someone like her could possibly be single, so I kept waiting for some guy to show up. No one did, and I couldn’t just leave her sitting there, looking all kinds of pathetic in her grass skirt and plastic lei . . .”

Laughing, he dodged the elbow Maya jabbed at him. “So I grabbed a couple drinks and headed over.”

“Oh.” Jayne’s soft sigh floated across the table, followed immediately by Regan’s snort.
“Are you freakin’ kidding me?” she asked. “Maya picked Dickhead over you?”
“What?” Maya sputtered as she shook her head. “No!”
“I think you did,” Ellie said. “Sure sounds that way.”
“That’s not what he meant. Jack wasn’t hitting on me, he was—”
“Maya.”
“What?” Her tongue froze the second her gaze locked on Jack’s. “You were?”
His warm hazel eyes wide, Jack shrugged slightly and laughed over the rim of his bottle. “There’s only two reasons a guy buys a girl a drink, Snip: He’s either trying to pick her up or he’s trying to apologize.”
“Which one’s this?” Ellie asked, but both Maya and Jack ignored her.
“Oh my God, Jack.” Slapping her hands over her face, Maya couldn’t believe her cheeks could burn that hot and not burst into flames. “Then why did you wave Will over and introduce me to him?”
“I didn’t wave him over; I was trying to wave him off, but then you had to go and smile at him, and that was it. Big goofy dude like me didn’t stand a chance, so I took my sorry self and my stupid piña colada back to the limbo pole.”
“Wow.” Regan couldn’t seem to stop shaking her head. “Just when I thought Dickhead couldn’t be any more of a dickhead.”
It was all Maya could do to look at Jack now, and when she did, it was through a mortified wince.
“Don’t worry about it, Snip. It all seems to have worked out in the long run, right?” His quick wink and teasing grin made her laugh.
“Yeah,” she said, rolling her eyes. “Worked out great.”
“So.” Ellie sat back in her chair and crossed her arms. “He steals your girl and you stay friends with him? What the hell’s wrong with you?”
“She wasn’t exactly my girl.” Jack chuckled. “I think we’d been talking for . . . what . . . like ten minutes?”
Maya nodded. “Yeah, something like that.”
“Yeah, yeah, yeah. Whatever.” Leaning her elbows on the table, hands folded, Regan sighed dramatically. “Please tell us you’re not still friends with him.”
“Uh . . .” Jack tipped his head toward Maya and pretended to whisper. “Any chance I can lie my way out of this?”
“Doubt it. Ellie’s like a bloodhound about things like that.”
“Great.” Sitting straight up again, he inhaled deeply and nodded. “Then the answer to that would be ‘Yes, Will and I are still friends.’””
Shaking her head slowly, Ellie huffed out a long sigh.
“Jack, Jack, Jack,” she said. “That’s too bad.”
“We hate Dickhead,” Jayne said.
“Really?” He smirked. “I never would’ve guessed.”
Regan, Ellie, and Jayne nodded in unison, each one doing a horrible job of keeping a straight face as Regan explained what was
what.
“Staying friends with him means we’re going to have to hate you on principle, which is too bad, because you seem like a nice guy and I, for one, had such high hopes for you. Sorry.”
“No, of course. Completely understandable.” Always a good sport, he bobbed his head in solemn agreement. “But before you have me lynched, would it do my case any good if I was to . . . I don’t know, just spitballin’ here . . . maybe pick up the tab tonight?”
“Don’t listen to Regan.” Unable to hold her grin back any longer, Ellie gave Regan a gentle shove and leaned closer to Jack. “I knew I was going to like you, Jack. Now let’s see what we can do about racking up that tab a little while you tell us all your secrets.”
She flagged Shelley for another round.
A flash of panic skittered across his eyes as he lifted his bottle; it was a look Maya had seen before, the same one he got whenever anyone wanted to make him the focus of the conversation.
“Well, that shouldn’t take long,” he finally said. “Snip’ll tell you how boring I am.”
“Why do you call her ‘Snip’?”
Maya sighed over a smile. “Because he thinks I’m like a snippet of a full-grown person.”
“Well, come on,” he teased. “You’re what, four foot nothing—you’re like a hobbit.”
“I’m five two!” Maya sat up as straight as she could when everyone else at the table raised their eyebrows at her. “I am so!”
Still blowing her off, they all sat back a little so Shelley could clear the empty glasses and replace their empty peanut bowl.
“And Jack isn’t even a little bit boring,” Maya said. “He has degrees in both creative writing and media arts and he designs videogames.”
Halfway through what she was saying, Jack leaned back, looked behind her, around her, and then under the table.
“What are you looking for?”
“Pom-poms.” With an exaggerated eye roll, he turned back to the others. “I don’t design the games, I just write parts of the scripts for some of them; the rest of the team makes the games work.”

“Just?”
Jayne asked. “I’d guess the script is equally as important as everything else about the game.”
“Thank you, Jayne.” Maya stared pointedly at Jack as she spoke, as if that would somehow finally help to get it through his head. “I’ve tried telling him that about a hundred times.”

Want to fall in love with characters with hearts as wide as their shoulders?
Then go pick up How Forever Feels by Laura Drewry, it’s as simple as that.


2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: How Forever Feels

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s